SOUTH SHORE REGIONAL LIBRARY BOARD, **ANNUAL** MEETING; MARGARET HENNIGAR PUBLIC LIBRARY, JUNE 20, 2016

The South Shore Regional Library Board administers South Shore Public Libraries. South Shore Public Libraries celebrate reading, discovering, learning and sharing.

Present: Mr. Patrick Hirtle Chair

Mrs. Cindy Bruhm, Vice Chair Councillor Tina Connors Councillor Eric Hustvedt Ms. Marie Hogan Loker Ms. Sara Lochhead Councillor Kelly Wilson

Mr. Jeff Mercer Ms. Christina Pottie Ms. Shelley Roy

Mr. Troy Myers, Secretary/Treasurer

Ms. Lynn Robart, Recorder

Regrets from: Mr. Mark Taylor, Dr. David Brattston, Ms. Wilma Stewart-White, Ms. Phyllis Price, Councillor Jennifer McDonald, Mr. Alan Wilson, Councillor Susan MacLeod, Mr. Tom Sheppard and Ms. Brittany Hachey.

MINUTES

Motion: "THAT the South Shore Regional Library Board accept

the minutes of the June 15, 2015 Annual Meeting

as circulated."

HOGAN LOKER/Bruhm All in favour. Motion carried.

2015-16 AUDIT

Kim Hopkins from Grant Thornton LLP presented the 2015-16 audit. The year ended with an accumulative excess of expenditures over revenue in the amount of \$39,963. This excess of expenditures is due to the rent that is in the arrears at the LCLC.

Motion: "THAT the South Shore Regional Library Board receive the

2015-16 Audit."

BRUHM/Wilson All in favour. Motion carried

MUNICIPALITY OF THE DISTRICT OF CHESTER

Chair Patrick Hirtle welcomed our newest Board Member, Councillor Tina Connors, representing the Municipality of the District of Chester.

2015-16 ANNUAL REPORT

The 2015-16 Annual Report was circulated with Notice of Meeting. Some highlights of the Annual Report were the increase in attendance in programming and circulation.

Motion: "THAT the South Shore Regional Library Board moved the

adoption of the 2015-16 Annual Report."

HUSTVEDT/Lochhead All in favour. Motion carried.

BOARD COMMITTESS

Motion: "THAT the South Shore Regional Library Board accept the list of

Executive and Committee members as amended (please see

attached)."

LOCHHEAD/Hogan Loker All in favour. Motion carried.

2016-17 BUDGET

The Finance Committee circulated the 2016-17 Budget to the Board.

Troy presented the following highlights:

- Provincial and Municipal funding remains the same as last year.
- Staff receives a 2% cost-of-living increase
- Savings in salary due to two long time employees retiring.
- A plan to hire a new librarian has been put on hold.
- Considerable drop in C@P funding this year
- Technical Services is running as a tight unit

It was reported that the current funding formula is being reviewed.

Discussion followed.

The Finance Committee recommended the following motion:

Motion: "THAT the South Shore Regional Library Board approves

the 2016-17 budget as recommended by the Finance

committee."

HOGAN LOKER/Bruhm All in favour. Motion carried.

APPOINTMENT OF AUDITORS	
Motion:	"THAT the South Shore Regional Library Board appoints Grant Thornton LLP as 2016-17 Auditors."
HUSTVEDT/Hogan Loker	All in favour. Motion carried.
<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>	
Councillor Kelly Wilson moved the meeting adjourned.	
Troy Myers, CEO/Chief Librarian	Patrick Hirtle, Chair

SOUTH SHORE REGIONAL LIBRARY BOARD ANNUAL MEETING, JUNE 20, 2016 Page 3

SOUTH SHORE REGIONAL LIBRARY BOARD COMMITTEES 2016-17

Executive Committee:

Board Chair as Chair - Patrick Hirtle

Board Vice-Chair as Vice-Chair - Cindy Bruhm

Chief Executive Officer as Secretary - Troy Myers

Past Chair, if still on Board - Tom Sheppard

One member, elected from and by the Board – Wilma Stewart-White

Nominating Committee:

Executive Committee plus one member, elected from and by the Board

-

Salaries, Wages & Benefits Committee:

Board Chair as Chair - Patrick Hirle

Board Vice-Chair as Vice-Chair - Cindy Bruhm

Chief Executive Officer as Secretary – Troy Myers

Two members, elected from and by the Board – David Bratttston, Mark Taylor

Two members, elected from and by the Staff -- Lynn Robart, Christina Pottie

Community Liaison Committee:

Board Chair as Chair – Patrick Hirtle

Board Vice-Chair as Vice-Chair - Cindy Bruhm

Chief Librarian – Troy Myers

Two Members from Board – Tom Sheppard, Alan Wilson

Members from Staff -- Lynn Robart as Recorder, Jeff Mercer, Christina Pottie, Marion

Moore

Communications Committee

Board Chair as Vice Chair -- Cindy Bruhm

Chief Librarian - Troy Myers

Two Members elected by and from the Board

_

Finance Committee

Board Chair as Chair - Patrick Hirtle

Board Vice-Chair as Vice-Chair - Cindy Bruhm

Chief Librarian – Troy Myers

Two members elected from and by the Board - Marie Hogan Loker, Jennifer

MacDonald, Sara Lochhead

Library Development Sub-committee

Board Vice-Chair as Chair - Cindy Bruhm

Board Chair -- Patrick Hirtle

Chief Librarian – Troy Myers

One of the two elected members of the Finance Committee –

One other staff member - Jeff Mercer