SOUTH SHORE REGIONAL LIBRARY BOARD **ANNUAL MEETING**MARGARET HENNIGAR PUBLIC LIBRARY AND VIA PHONE, JUNE 29, 2020, NOON

The South Shore Regional Library Board administers South Shore Public Libraries. South Shore Public Libraries celebrate reading, discovering, learning and sharing.

Present: Mr. Patrick Hirtle Chair

Mrs. Cindy Bruhm, Vice Chair

Dr. David Brattston Councillor Tina Connors Councillor Brian Fralic Councillor Michael Graves Councillor Eric Hustevdt

Mr. Bill Kowalski

Ms. Marie Hogan Loker Ms. Sara Lochhead Mr. Tom Sheppard Mr. Jeff Mercer, Staff Ms. Christina Pottie, Staff

Mr. Troy Myers, Secretary/Treasurer

Ms. Lynn Robart, Recorder

Regrets from: Mr. David Luther, Ms. Wilma Stewart-White and Mr. Mark Taylor.

MINUTES

MOTION: "THAT the South Shore Regional Library Board accept

the minutes of the June 17, 2019 Annual Meeting as circulated."

BRATTSTON/Connors All in favour. Motion carried.

AUDIT 2019-20

Kelsey Murphy from Grant Thornton LLP presented the 2019-20 audit. The year ended with an accumulative surplus \$39,764.

MOTION: "THAT the South Shore Regional Library Board receive the

2019-20 Audit."

BRATTSTON/Hogan Loker All in favour. Motion carried.

2019-2020 ANNUAL REPORT

Troy presented the 2019-20 Annual Report to the Board.

Motion: "THAT the South Shore Regional Library Board approved the

2019-20 Annual Report as circulated."

HUSTVEDT/Fralic All in favour. Motion carried.

SOUTH SHORE REGIONAL LIBRARY BOARD ANNUAL MEETING, JUNE 29, 2020 PAGE 2

A request for a comparison of numbers from previous years of programs and circulation be presented to the Board at the next meeting.

COMMITTEE MEMBER REPORT

2019-20 Committee report was circulated with Notice of Meeting.

Motion: "THAT the South Shore Regional Library Board accept the list of

Executive and Committee members for 2020-21 as presented."

SHEPPARD/Kowalski All in favour. Motion carried.

2020-21 BUDGET

The 2020-21 Budget was circulated to the Board.

Motion: "THAT the South Shore Regional Library Board accept the

Budget as circulated to the Board.

HOGAN LOKER/Brattston

It was requested that the Quarterly Spending Report be circulated with the Notice of Meeting for Board Members to review.

APPOINTMENT OF AUDITORS

Motion: "THAT the South Shore Regional Library Board

appoints Grant Thornton LLP as 2019-20 Audits."

SHEPPARD/BRUHM All in favour. Motion carried.

ADJOURMENT

Eric Hustevdt moved the meeting to be adjourned; seconded by Michael Graves

Patrick Hirtle, Chair Troy Myers, Secretary/Treasurer

SOUTH SHORE REGIONAL LIBRARY BOARD COMMITTEES

2020-21

Executive Committee:

Board Chair as Chair - Patrick Hirtle

Board Vice-Chair as Vice-Chair - Cindy Bruhm

Chief Executive Officer as Secretary - Troy Myers

Past Chair, if still on Board - Tom Sheppard

One member, elected from and by the Board – Wilma Stewart-White

Nominating Committee:

Executive Committee plus one member, elected from and by the Board

- -

Salaries, Wages & Benefits Committee:

Board Chair as Chair - Patrick Hirle

Board Vice-Chair as Vice-Chair - Cindy Bruhm

Chief Executive Officer as Secretary – Troy Myers

Two members, elected from and by the Board – David Bratttston, Mark Taylor

Two members, elected from and by the Staff -- Lynn Robart, Christina Pottie

Community Liaison Committee:

Board Chair as Chair - Patrick Hirtle

Board Vice-Chair as Vice-Chair - Cindy Bruhm

Chief Librarian – Troy Myers

Two Members from Board – Tom Sheppard, Tina Connors

Members from Staff -- Lynn Robart as Recorder, Jeff Mercer, ???, ???,

Communications Committee

Board Chair as Vice Chair -- Cindy Bruhm

Chief Librarian - Troy Myers

Two Members elected by and from the Board

- David Luther,

Finance Committee

Board Chair as Chair - Patrick Hirtle

Board Vice-Chair as Vice-Chair - Cindy Bruhm

Chief Librarian - Troy Myers

Deputy Chief Librarian – Jeff Mercer

Two members elected from and by the Board - Marie Hogan Loker, Sara Lochhead

Library Development Sub-committee

Board Vice-Chair as Chair - Cindy Bruhm

Board Chair -- Patrick Hirtle

Chief Librarian - Troy Myers

One of the two elected members of the Finance Committee - Sara Lochhead

One other staff member - Jeff Mercer

Mobile Committee (Adhov)

Tina Connors, Eric Hustvedt and Tom Sheppard