# SOUTH SHORE REGIONAL LIBRARY BOARD, **ANNUAL** MEETING; MARGARET HENNIGAR PUBLIC LIBRARY, JUNE 17, 2019; 5:30 p.m.

The South Shore Regional Library Board administers South Shore Public Libraries. South Shore Public Libraries celebrate reading, discovering, learning and sharing.

Present: Mr. Patrick Hirtle Chair

Mrs. Cindy Bruhm, Vice Chair Councillor Tina Connors Councillor Eric Hustvedt Mr. Bill Kowalski

Ms. Marie Hogan Loker
Ms. Sara Lochhead
Mr. David Luther
Mr. Tom Sheppard
Mr. Jeff Mercer, Staff
Ms. Christina Pottie, Staff

Mr. Troy Myers, Secretary/Treasurer

Ms. Lynn Robart, Recorder

Regrets from: Councillor Michael Graves, Mr. Mark Taylor, Ms. Wilma Stewart-White, Councillor Brian Fralic and Dr. David Brattston

## **MINUTES**

Motion: "THAT the South Shore Regional Library Board accept the minutes of the June 18,

2018 Annual Meeting as circulated."

LOCHHEAD/Hogan Loker All in favour. Motion carried.

## 2018-19

Kim Hopkins from Grant Thornton LLP presented the 2018-19 audit. The year ended with an accumulative surplus \$3,602.

Motion: "THAT the South Shore Regional Library Board receive the

2018-19 Audit."

SHEPPARD/Luther All in favour. Motion carried

# COMMITTEE MEMBER REPORT

2019-20 Committee Member report was circulated with Notice of Meeting. An ad hoc Mobile Committee with members Tom Sheppard, Eric Hustvedt, and Tina Connors to be added.

Motion: "THAT the South Shore Regional Library Board accept the list of Executive and Committee

members for 2019-20 as amended."

HOGAN LOKER/Bruhm All in favour. Motion carried.

# 2018-19 ANNUAL REPORT

2018-19 Annual Report was circulated. A noticeable increase in number of programs offered and number of program participants for the last three years was noted.

Motion: "THAT the South Shore Regional Library Board

approved the 2018-19 Annual Report as circulated."

HUSTVEDT/Sheppard All in favour. Motion carried.

# 2019-20 BUDGET

The 2018-19 Budget was circulated to the Board.

Troy presented the following highlights:

- ✓ The 2-year Graduate to Opportunity Grant is completed.
- ✓ 2% cost of living increase for staff
- ✓ 2019-20 Budget has a surplus of \$263.

The Finance Committee recommended the following motion:

Motion: "THAT the South Shore Regional Library Board

approved the 2019-20 budget as recommended by the

Finance Committee."

HOGAN LOKER/BRUHM All in favour. Motion carried.

# **APPOINTMENT OF AUDITORS**

Motion: "THAT the South Shore Regional Library Board appoints Grant Thornton LLP as

2019-20 Auditors."

SHEPPARD/BRUHM All in favour. Motion carried.

# <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

# SOUTH SHORE REGIONAL LIBRARY BOARD COMMITTEES

2019-20

#### **Executive Committee:**

Board Chair as Chair - Patrick Hirtle

Board Vice-Chair as Vice-Chair - Cindy Bruhm

Chief Executive Officer as Secretary – Troy Myers

Past Chair, if still on Board – Tom Sheppard

One member, elected from and by the Board – Wilma Stewart-White

## Nominating Committee:

Executive Committee plus one member, elected from and by the Board

-

## Salaries, Wages & Benefits Committee:

Board Chair as Chair - Patrick Hirtle

Board Vice-Chair as Vice-Chair - Cindy Bruhm

Chief Executive Officer as Secretary – Troy Myers

Two members, elected from and by the Board - David Brattston, Mark Taylor

Two members, elected from and by the Staff -- Lynn Robart, Christina Pottie

# Community Liaison Committee:

Board Chair as Chair - Patrick Hirtle

Board Vice-Chair as Vice-Chair - Cindy Bruhm

Chief Librarian - Troy Myers

Two Members from Board – Tom Sheppard, Tina Connors

Members from Staff -- Lynn Robart as Recorder, Jeff Mercer, Christina Pottie, ???

#### **Communications Committee**

Board Chair as Vice Chair - Cindy Bruhm

Chief Librarian - Troy Myers

Two Members elected by and from the Board

- David Luther,

#### **Finance Committee**

Board Chair as Chair - Patrick Hirtle

Board Vice-Chair as Vice-Chair - Cindy Bruhm

Chief Librarian - Troy Myers

Deputy Chief Librarian – Jeff Mercer

Two members elected from and by the Board - Marie Hogan Loker, Sara Lochhead

# Library Development Sub-committee

Board Vice-Chair as Chair - Cindy Bruhm

Board Chair - Patrick Hirtle

Chief Librarian – Troy Myers

One of the two elected members of the Finance Committee – Sara Lochhead,

One other staff member - Jeff Mercer

# Board Mobile Committee (Adhoc)

Tina Connors, Eric Hustvedt and Tom Sheppard